Paul B. Clark Award


Paul B. Clark Award

The award is presented at the EPIC Awards Dinner during CAPIO’s Annual Conference to the individual who, in the judgment of the CAPIO Board of Directors, demonstrates exceptional leadership and lifetime achievement in the field through professional commitment, including the mentoring of others and fostering a greater understanding of the PIO function among colleagues, community and the media.  (ENTRIES CLOSED FOR 2022)

Nomination Information 

The CAPIO Board of Directors is soliciting nominations from members and non-members. You do not need to be a member to nominate an individual for this award; self-nominations will also be accepted. SUBMIT A NOMINATION

How to Nominate

All entries and supporting documents must be submitted electronically to CAPIO online.

Nominations should include a written narrative no longer than two pages in length. Supporting documents that reinforce the written narrative and demonstrate the candidate’s achievements are recommended.

In nominating a person for the award, a nominator should review the Paul B. Clark Award scoring rubric that will be used by the selection committee. A nominator might also consider:

The nominee’s history as a public information official or other public agency manager or elected official.

  • The nominee’s history with CAPIO, as a member, volunteer or board member.
  • Other contributions to CAPIO and the profession, including:
  • Presenting at a CAPIO workshop, CAPIO Annual Conference or other conference;
  • Hosting a regional workshop;
  • Serving as a judge for the annual Excellence in Communications Award; and
  • Mentoring other public information personnel or offering advocacy of the profession with other managers and elected officials or media.

When submitting your nomination, you may share outcome information used such as a function chart, graphics, images or links to briefings, etc. You may also provide quotes or support from colleagues, supervisors, elected officials, residents, etc. To submit supplemental information for the nomination, you may submit it online when submitting your nomination or you may email it to


Paul B. Clark Award nominee scoring rubric

Recipient Selection

The final selection will be made by the CAPIO Board or appointed selection committee prior to the Annual Conference each year.  Nominees do not need to be members of CAPIO.

Award Honors

The award winner will receive a lifetime membership in CAPIO, a commemorative gift, and special recognition at the CAPIO Annual Conference. In addition, CAPIO will send a news release and supporting photograph(s) to the award winner’s employer and to local media following the announcement.

Deadline & Contact

2022 entries open May 3 – July 14 at 5 p.m. For more information or questions, call CAPIO at 1-844-CAPIO55 or email  


2022 Paul B. Clark Recipient
Jennifer M. Cabral, MPA

Jennifer M. Cabral, APR

Jennifer M. Cabral has been the voice of the Orange County Sanitation District (OC San) for over 20 years. She oversees the Public Affairs Office and Board Services, a joint staff of 15 people, managing marketing communications, community relations, public affairs, legislative and government affairs, branding, stakeholder relationships, event planning, media relations, and board relations for the third largest wastewater treatment facility west of the Mississippi River.

Jennifer has become the sounding board for OC San’s executive management team and has gained a seat at the decision-makers’ table. Her value to the agency is demonstrated by the trust, confidence, and respect she has earned from her staff, peers, management, and Board of Directors.


2021 Paul B. Clark Recipient
Bill Nash, in memorium

Bill Nash served as the first Public Information Officer for the county of Ventura’s County Executive Office, where he supported the board of supervisors, the County Executive Officer and 25 County agencies in their public information efforts. He was also responsible for managing the Joint Information Center for the County’s Office of Emergency Services during major emergencies like the Thomas Fire, Woolsey Fire, Borderline Shooting and Camarillo Springs Mudslide.